Skip to content ↓
Gladesmore Community School

Gladesmore Community School

What are the types of abuse?

Types of Abuse and Neglect

There are broad categories of abuse that may also manifest in some of the issues listed under ‘specific Safeguarding Issues’.  They are:

Physical abuse is when someone hurts or harms a child or young person on purpose.

Sexual abuse can happen in person or online. Contact abuse happens when an abuser makes physical contact with a child.

Non-contact abuse happens when a child is abused without being touched by the abuser. This can be in person or online. (NSPCC 2019)

Emotional abuse is any action, spoken or otherwise that negatively affects the way that a child feels, causing low moods, sadness or self-inflicted harmful behaviours.

Neglect is the ongoing failure to meet a child's basic needs and the most common form of child abuse. A child might be left hungry or dirty, or without proper clothing, shelter, supervision or health care. This can put children and young people in danger. It can also have long-term effects on their physical and mental wellbeing. (NSPCC 2019)

There might not be any obvious physical signs of emotional abuse or neglect. A child might not tell anyone what is happening until they reach a 'crisis point'. That is why it is important to look out for signs in how a child is acting.

Neglect and emotional abuse were the most common reasons for a Child Protection plan in England in 2017/18.


How safe are our children?  


NSPCC Disabled Children have an equal right to protection from abuse  




Gladesmore Community School
Crowland Road
N15 6EB


020 8800 0884